Message in a bottle

 

Romantic things happen a lot in my head. Not so much in my reality. By romantic things I don’t mean slow dances or candlelight dinners, though those are in short supply too. I mean walking down a beautiful street with falling leaves, and standing atop the battlements of a windswept castle, or having a beautiful child offer me a gift, or finding a message in the bottle.

Except that in Italy all of these things have happened.

Especially the message in a bottle.

How amazing in this?

 

 

This is the letter I wrote in reply to finding the bottle. Excuse the sentimentality, but seriously, if ever a letter to a stranger deserved to be romantical…

 

Hello,

I sat by the sea the morning of April 10th with my two companions sleeping on either side of me. We had scrambled our way into a small cove with an abandoned private beach. With the cool sea air on my arms and the chilly water lapping at my feet, I described the beauty around me to my journal. Then I noticed a bobbing bottle, about a 100 meters out to sea. I watched it as it made its way to the shore opposite my quiet seat. In such a moment it is hard not to feel that fate is leading the way. I was the only person who saw the bottle reach shore. It was my bottle, and I felt the message inside was destined for me and only me. Questions filled my mind. I knew I would never be easy till I could examine it for myself. Sneaking away from my dozing friends, I clambered over rocks and entered the water with my shoes and pants still on to fish out my prize. Once I had it in hand, I was so pleased to see a portrait staring back at me. I had feared the message would be in a language that would need translation. Once I saw that you had left an email in hopes of being contacted, I decided to tell you the story of finding the bottle, as that is what I would hope for on such an occasion. I made up my mind to write to you as soon as I could, before the romance of the experience wore off.

I left the beautiful beaches of Castiglieoncello that afternoon. My two friends I had been enjoying our Easter holidays there. Now I am in Borgo A Mazzano with my colleagues. Just another stop on our 6 month tour of Italy as English teachers/actors. My time in Italy will end in July, after which I will return to my native California. I speak very little Italian, and so I hope that you will be able to understand or translate this message.

Is the portrait of you? I would love to hear about you, and the story of the bottle. I love stories.

Here is a photo of me having just found your bottle. If you want any other information about it please let me know.

Kindest regards,

M*

Here’s to the unexpected and what we do with it.

2 thoughts on “Message in a bottle

  1. Wow Miranda! What an amazing story. It seems like you are having a great time in Italy. I also love your hat. I am spending the next 6 months performing Vaudeville in Pismo Beach, CA, so im having an adventure too. Xoxo

  2. That is so exciting! I love your writing! You make everything seem ever more amazing (not that this isnt!) Keep us posted on the msg in a bottle! what an awesome 6 month adventure….ahhhh

Leave a Reply

