Sweet Excitement

Yesterday was my last day of work for the year. I worked from about 8:30am till 10:00pm with only a short dinner break. Needless to say, it’s been a long week.

I’ve had such long hours because of the performances of our Playmakers show The Christmas Carol. It was the same script I wrote last year, but it was a very different production with about 60 kids involved, not to mention mothers. But, all in all, it was a resounding success. I’m proud to be a part of such a cool children’s theater program, and running a show every few months is a good reminder of why I got out of stage management. When I walked out of the theater I said to my boss, “Next time you see me I’ll be a married woman!” And that was a happy thought.

So here I am, lounging around at 10:00 on Saturday in my snuggie, contemplating the year that has passed and the year to come.

I am sweetly excited.

I am not nervous. I am not giddy. I am slightly annoyed and frustrated. I am just ready to move into the next phase of my life.

My emotions a year ago were similar. I was pretty sure that B and I were headed for a romantic relationship. I had felt like we had been a couple for a while—I had to stop myself from referring to him as my boyfriend out loud. But we weren’t enjoying any of the perks of dating (i.e. kissing). I was so ready to move forward. It took a few weeks, but we got there, and it’s been an amazing, wonderful, exciting, trying, insightful journey ever since.

Except now, I’m in the same place. We have reached the point that we are so ready to move forward. I am tired of being engaged. I can’t imagine why people would be engaged for longer than a couple of months. (Of course my mother might have other opinions. Thanks again Mom.) The accounts are combined. The house is furnished. The schedules are aligned. And I am ready to move on.

Thank goodness there are only 11 days, two hours, and about 20 minutes till we are in the sealing room together.  That is ultimately all the matters. I am inexpressibly grateful to be getting married in the temple, to know that our relationship will last through the eternities as long as we do our part. How great is our God? I’m sure I don’t yet fully comprehend this gift, but I am still very thankful for it.

I hope you will be able to party with us at some time or place in the coming month. We are really looking forward to our Wedding tour of the West (receptions in three of the places we have called home, too bad we couldn’t get to Texas). But we are even more excited to be starting our life together, officially. To tackle the challenges that will come hand-in-hand will be much more bearable than fighting alone.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Excitement

  1. Aww. I’m so excited and happy for you. Being engaged for sure sucks. When you know, you know and you just want to be married. Not long now though. I can’t wait to come party with you in Pleasant Grove. I didn’t get an invite though. I’m hurt. 😉 I’ll steal one of the 2 that Natalie recieved so I will have the address to the reception. Hope you have a Merry Christmas!

  2. Beautiful post Miranda. I’m so happy for you! I wish we could be there to celebrate this great event in your life. Happy Wedding Day!

  3. Shannon! I’m so sorry. I’m not sure how Natalie got two and you got none. You are absolutely invited. Can’t wait to see you all.

    I wish you could too Krissy, you are my adopted big sis, and it won’t be the same without all my family there–ie, you. Stop living so far away! Love you. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

