The Christmas Carol

 

Dickens's Original Illustration

Dickens

For work I get to do lots of pretty darn cool stuff. A few months ago wrote an adaptation of Charles Dickens’s Christmas Carol for our Playmakers program.

I don’t think I had ever read the whole book before. It is an amazing little work which made me laugh and cry, sometimes on the same page. No wonder it has been around so long and turned into so many movies, books, musicals, etc.

Most of it is straight Dickens text. I tried to include as much as possible. I wrote in Dickens himself and a few other narrators so that I could keep some of his better jokes. It is designed for 15-25 or so actors. We are doing it with 27 between in the ages of 7 and 14. About an hour long depending on what you do with the songs. Pretty exciting. I’d love to know if anyone else uses it for a production. It is copyright free–for now.

Anyone in the Cedar area can come and watch the performance at the SUU auditorium December 16-18 at 7:30. I’ll be there, since I am also the stage manager.

 I think we will also be doing a reading sometime in December for my book club. Anyone interested in participating can ask me for more info, but I don’t have any at the moment.

Here is the script.  christmascarolscript

One thought on “The Christmas Carol

  1. WOW! That is so awesome! I’m so glad that you are able to make good use of your talents and have a job that allows that to happen. I wish I could see it. Maybe you could get a video and bring it for Christmas?

Leave a Reply

