Good Morning:

The Haven

The Haven

I’ve always been a morning person. Some of my earliest memories are of waking up at 5 and 6 in the morning, wandering through the quiet house, getting a bowl of frosted mini-wheats and plopping down to watch, KidQuiz, I Love Lucy, or even the news at a stupidly young age.

 

 For this reason, I have spent the last 8 or so years of my life trying to perfect my morning routine. Now waking up is often one of the best parts of my day.

The routine actually starts the night before when I get to eventually/joyfully climb into my beautiful bed. This always makes me happy, no just because I really do love to sleep, but I love my sheets and blankets. I am a believer that a beautiful sleep set makes for beautiful dreams, and a good sleep.

Flash forward my usual 6 hours.

The Alarm:

Before you cringe at the automatic stomach dropping feeling induced by the atrocious sound of your own alarm, know friend, that I have a CD playing alarm that is currently set wake me up with a beautiful piano aria by Bach.

Next, I lay in bed for about two minuets. Sometimes I try to spend a few minutes thinking or laughing about my dreams. They usually make good stories for me later on in the day.

When I open my eyes I am not only greeted with the pleasant sight of my simple bedroom décor, but also with the natural light of the rising sun (this depends on the time of morning and the season) which sprays dozens rainbows around the walls of my room thanks to a simple prism that hangs in my window. This means that I sleep with the blinds, and often the window open. I hope I can always have an east facing window in my bedroom. The lightness of the room makes it infinitely easier to roll out.

By these processes my three dominant senses—touch, sight, and sound—have been well gratified and the remaining are soon after mended.

Breakfast:

I nearly had a panic attach a few weeks ago when there was a suspicion floating around that Malt-O-Meal might stop making my morning staple Honey Oat Blenders. I don’t wish to dwell on such a terrible possibility, other than to say, that would be a very bad day for me. Those HoneyBunches rip-offs have seen me through many early mornings, late nights, afternoon snacks, and the occasional meal between our regular AM appointment.  Other cereals have come and gone in my blue plastic bowl, and still some times I find myself reverting to the sweet temptation of Frosted Mini-wheats (spooners actually), but few things fill me with such steady joy as waking up to think about Honey Oat Blenders in vanilla soy milk with half a banana. Call me boring, I just think, why mess with perfection.

Breakfast is sometimes topped off with an over-easy egg or a couple of egg whites for protein.

The shower and grooming aspects of my routine are less favorable, but still required to make me feel prepared for the day. For months I searched for the perfect shower curtain, before finding the lovely rainbow stripes that now keep me cheerful through this tedious process.

Before heading out the door I break-fast spiritually on my scriptures. This 15-30 minutes of reading and reflection is what gives me faith and enthusiasm to jump into another day. Some times I find answers, sometimes new questions, most of all I find reminders from the Lord about lessons I am still learning and things I know I can improve on. All mental health professionals agree that personal meditation time is beneficial and productive. Funny how the prophets were saying the same thing thousands of years before mental health professionals ever came along.

There it is, all six senses fed and warmed by my 45-90 minuet morning routine. It is of course longer when I force myself to interrupt it a few times a week with a trip to the gym or the track. But these are generally still pleasant experiences.

 I have heard and seen that some of you struggle with your morning get up. Poor You! I hope something on this list will help you. I especially favor the allowing in of natural light to make it easier to greet the day right.

3 thoughts on “Good Morning:

  1. Randa- I am happy for you and that you’re able to minuet through your morning. Perhaps one day I will be able to benefit from your advice when I’m NOT awakened by a crying baby as I try to hide my face under the pillow to avoid way too much light streaming into my room at 5:30 am. Sometimes 5:45 if I’m lucky. Inside I know I’m the morning person that I always have been as well but she’s been just sleep deprived for too long. I’ll have to re-read your tips a few years down the road 🙂

  2. I think if I could get in a habit and stick with it, I could be like that. But, my problem is that I basically have to force myself to go to bed at a reasonable time. And that’s hard for me to do. But, yeah. I should try to change my ways and be more like you in that regard.

  3. what a woderful words you have written, i hopr that every one who can read these words benfit from them and share them for the others.Best Regards

Leave a Reply

